Why have a blog…..am I not busy enough already??

I can't say noOk, depressingly I’ve had this blog for years.  And I mean actual years.  And I’ve hardly written anything.  It’s on my to-do list, you now the one that gets re-written every day/week/month ‘write a blog post’ and I do actually have a list of exciting blog titles.  It’s just that I’ve never actually gotten round to writing them up.  And then too much time has passed.  But what is this blog for?  Who is it for? And why?

This blog is like that book I’ve always wanted to write, like that cushions I planned to sew, like that recipe planning I was going to do on a Sunday night……….and I’m fed up with unfinished, unaccomplished things.  And I need to give myself a break.  I’m busy, super-crazy busy trying to manage this whole portfolio life business, with family, work, study, volunteering, learning, teaching, reading, cooking, eating, cleaning, designing, organising and so on. And so on. And so on.  And I can’t say no.  It’s not in my vocabulary.  Or it hasn’t been until recently.

But, I have actually accomplished some things.  And I’ve completed some things.  And it’s so easy to forget that.  It’s too easy to move on to the next thing on the list without giving yourself a pat on the back, a well done for getting something done.  And we all need a bit of encouragement along the way.  Though you might not always realise it.

I’m not good at asking for help and I’m also not good at accepting praise.  There is always something I could have done better.  Or something else I want to do, or try, or be.

So this blog has to work for me.  It’s going to be something for me to look back on, to reflect on what I’ve been doing as I run about all over the place, balancing (ha ha, or attempting to) the demands of a modern day portfolio life.  And if it makes for an interesting read for you too, well that’s a bonus.

Welcome to my world!

Leave a Reply

